August 7, 2019

MAY-JUNE-JULY WRAPUP (aka the month of reading slump)


Hi,

In April, I barely read anything. I got through three books and that was it. In May, I tried and tried and tried but got through nothing. I ended up getting stuck in Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes. In June, I FINALLY finished Hidden Bodies THEN read The Hunger Games for a quick reread. It did not disappoint. In July, I got through three books and all of which were really quick reads for me which is a really good sign.

The shift in interest and stress at work really got me there. But I really hope to get my reading pace back and get into that 4-5 books per month kind of thing. Crossing my fingers that this is the month. Also, OMG Dark Age is out! I picked up my copy from the bookstore last Monday (not on this book haul because it's for August!)!! EXCITED FOR THIS!!

I wanted to get back to all things blogging. I'll take it one step at a time. The slump is really getting into me.


books read


Hidden Bodies (You #2) by Caroline Kepnes | The Hunger Games (the Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins | The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware | Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman | The Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata

Book slump is real. ugh.

May 22, 2019

APRIL WRAPUP (aka the month of baseball)


Hi,

April is the month of MLB regular season and I am obsessed! Shame me but I just started watching this and I feel so invested. I'm fairly familiar with the game (special thanks to anime. lol) but entirely new to watching MLB which is actually really exciting! Also, generic me is rooting for the Yankees (and also lowkey rooting for the Brewers on the NL).

We're three weeks into May and I've just gotten deeper into baseball that my reading time had to be cut down so that I can tune in to my teams' games, read through news updates, and watch all the game recaps (which is an insane thing to do). But come the end of the season, I'll probably be done with this thing. I think? idk.

On other things, I was surprised that I actually got into 3 books this month. With a slump coming at me because of Gerald's Game which I tried reading in the 2nd or 3rd week of the month and held off to read the Death Note spin-off which worked out fine for me. So for now, I'll be putting Gerald's Game down and pick up a different book to get my reading numbers up and my reading mood back.

I know this post is like THREE FREAKING WEEKS LATE! But who cares at this point? All these drafted posts on my blog are almost done and I'm still not done reading anything since this wrapup. I might end up not finishing a book in May. Oh look, it's the 22nd and I've read ZERO books so far. Send help!


books read



The Gone World was a really good time travel novel recommended and given to me by my bestfriend 💖 One Day in December is a really cute and quick read. LOVED it!!! Death Note: Another Note: The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases is an interesting spin-off to the Death Note series (minus the cringe victim/character names). The twist was nice and the mystery as a whole was really good.

April 17, 2019

Am I getting too old for YA?


Is there even such a thing?

Hi,

In the past two years, I found myself being drawn into adult titles more and more. That, of course doesn't mean that I don't read YA titles anymore. I still do. And in fact, I've read more YA so far this year which I see is a good sign.

But if I'm still reading a good amount of YA, what's the drama, right?

Right?

April 12, 2019

[REVIEW] A Pack of Blood and Lies

title: A Pack of Blood and Lies (The Boulder Wolves #1)
author: Olivia Wildenstein
genre: young adult, supernatural
published: April 18, 2019 by Twilight Press
format: ebook, 350 pages
purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository
rating: 3 / 5 stars
goodreads
The primal rule of winning: don’t fall in love with the contender.  
Three months shy of her eighteenth birthday, Ness is forced to return to Colorado. Even though it’s been six years, and the wolves of her all-male pack don’t recognize her, she recognizes them. People who shun others because of their gender are hard to forget. 
Especially Liam Kolane—son of Heath, the crudest and cruelest Alpha to have ruled the Boulder Pack. Liam is as handsome as he is infuriating, as kind as he is punishing, and he makes Ness’s traitorous heart race, which isn’t good. After all, he’s a Kolane. Like father like son, right? 
When Heath dies, Liam vies to become the new Alpha and no one dares challenge him. 
Except Ness. 
Thus begins a treacherous game. 
The rules: winner takes all…including loser’s life. 
Fans of Kresley Cole and Cassandra Clare will devour A PACK OF BLOOD AND LIES.
Your usual supernatural romance.

I don't read much YA books these days. Heck, I don't even read a lot of supernatural/paranormal romance books. I picked this up generally because of the author whose writing I can devour in just a few days. Olivia Wildenstein's writing is always a quick read but this one just felt 'eh' for me.

April 9, 2019

MARCH WRAPUP (aka the month of Harry Potter #4)


Hi,

March was a busy month for me.

The first week, I went hiking with my sister and her co-workers which is a first for me. The second week, we went on a staycation out of town for my parent's 30th anniversary. The third week, we stayed at home and I finally finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (OMG!). Also, my sister and I finally finished watching You on Netflix and I have mixed feelings about it (I'll try to have my thoughts up at some point). The fourth week, we went to a book sale which was a real bargain (4 books for less than$15!) and my youngest sister finally graduated senior high school!

Anyway, I called this the month of HP#4 because I read this huge brick for 2-3 weeks, I think? 700+ is too much for me but I never really forced myself into it. I was really loving it and if it wasn't for work and life, in general, I probably go through it in a week. Can't take a photo of it right now because my cousin borrowed it :)


books read

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Gregory Norminton (translator) | Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling

March 31, 2019

Spring 2019 TBR


Hi,

This year, I started making seasonal TBRs instead of a monthly one. And somehow I think it went okay?

I chose books based on the challenges I have for the next three months. I set 15 books for January - March and I got through 4 of them 😅 Not a very good count at this point but in my defense, I dropped out of the Winter Bookish Bingo because I wasn't feeling it and I picked up different books for the Pop Sugar Reading Challenge.

I'm still a mood reader so when I don't really feel like reading a particular book. I don't. I learned that it only pushes me away from reading books I really like to read. As always, read what you want to read. Don't let some reading challenge or other's preferences push you away from reading those books 😊

As my goal this year is to get through books I purchased years and years ago, I'm adding books I hauled and set as monthly to-be-read in the past years in the same months. Kind of like a look back and at the same time cleaning up. Here's my TBR for the next three months: April, May, and June.

March 3, 2019

FEBRUARY WRAPUP (aka the month of quick reads)

all the books read

Hi,

February was a busy month for me. I've been unusually busy at work which is a good thing (?). But also sad because I get lesser and lesser time writing blog posts and blog hopping.

In February I participated in #catreadathon which really pushed me to read 4 books in 2 weeks! Really surprising pace for me right here. And because of this, I got a 2 books ahead on my goodreads reading challenge! Yay! I'm doing my best to keep that lead up 😊

Also, late February, I started watching You on Netflix which I have mixed feelings about. I'll probably write some of my thoughts on a #weekendreads post when I finish it. It's good if I look at it as a series itself. But I've read the book. Soooo. Yeah.


books read

Dry by Neal Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman | You (You #1) by Caroline Kepnes | Tesla's Attic (the Accelerati Trilogy #1) by Neal Shusterman & Eric Elfman | Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew J. Sullivan | Wonder by R.J. Palacio | Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...